“Ten” Snoggable Literary Characters

I’ve been tagged by Eve to list 10 snoggable literary characters.

This takes me down memory lane!

In no particular order:

  1. George Emerson in E.M. Forster’s A Room With A View: my high school literary crush! Yes.
  2. Howard Roark in The Fountainhead: You know, he’s one of those men in real life who would like, say two words to me, and then throw me on the bed. I wouldn’t take him to parties with me, but maybe we could do intellectual debates in the secrecy of our home and then throw each other around, eventually landing on the bed.
  3. Aragorn in Lord of the Rings: A nice guy to take through dangerous territory. Needs to take a shower though.
  4. Jay Gatsby in The Great Gatsby: His devotion to Daisy is incredibly romantic. Though it would really drive me nuts because she’d be all he’d talk about while “snogging.”
  5. T.S. Garp in The World According to Garp: T.S. stands for “Terribly Sexy.” (if you read the book, you know the line).
  6. Jean Valjean in Les Miserables: He’s the bad, good boy.
  7. Heathcliff from Wuthering Heights: Tortured! Romantic! Devoted! Tormented!
  8. Westley in The Princess Bride : He’ll save you from the Fire Swamp and then romance you with undying love. Plus he’s played by Cary Elwes in the movie–not too shabby.
  9. Update. Okay, I came up with #9. Rick Deckard in Do Androids Dream of Electric Sheep? (aka: Bladerunner): Because he is not a/an replicant/android.

Um. I fail. I can only list 8 9. I even thought about all the men in my beloved Murakami novels, and I couldn’t bring myself to list any of them here. Can it be so true that there are no sexy men in literary novels? Where have they gone? Or do I just not like reading about sexy men? And why do male writers write sexy men so well? Because I realize that of all the books up there, only Wuthering Heights is written by a woman, one of the wonderful Bronte sisters.

Maybe you’ll do better and come up with ten.

I tag anyone!

11 Comments

Filed under Memes, Reading

11 responses to ““Ten” Snoggable Literary Characters

  1. Can it be so true that there are no sexy men in literary novels? Where have they gone?

    Off to live in SFnal universes.

    (wink and grin)

    There are very few characters I find attractive in that way. I think it’s partly because interesting characters in books aren’t always the kinds of people we want to be around in real life.

  2. Oops, I think I put html blockquoting that first chunk. Anyway, I forgot to add: he SO is a replicant. SO.

  3. Violeta

    As soon as I saw this post I was hoping to see Heathcliff listed! I think he’d be my fave. :)

  4. I thought about Westley but I kept confusing book Westley with movie Westley…

  5. Gord: Yes–you hit it on the head! I was told that the most interesting characters, and characters you WANT to write about, are people you’d NEVER want to meet in real life. And–he is NOT a replicant! He can’t be!

    Violeta: Heathcliff is the man.

    Monica Foucher: I know, it’s sort of weird once the movie puts the face on the man. For some reason, it hasn’t done this with Gatsby (I don’t see Gatsby at Redford), but it has done it with Westley.

  6. Eve

    Great list! I didn’t think about Gatsby, and I love that book.

  7. Mai

    great list. i think i’d add Mr. Darcy from Pride & Prejudice, dreamy straight talker, whose willing to marry for love at a time when that might’ve been difficult.

  8. (Prepares well-honed debating skills:)

    IS TEW A REPLIKANT! DUH! LOLZ
    ;)

    I gotta say, it’d be very Phildickian if he was. I can’t for the life of me remember what the book says on this, mind you. And I read it not too long ago. (But I was ill and it didn’t stick, apparently.)

    Once I figured out protagonists could be people I wouldn’t want to hang out with myself, things got way more interesting.

  9. I’m with Mai: Mr. Darcy, definitely. And I’m kind of in love with some of those Richard Ford characters in Rock Springs.

  10. Lamberakis

    Of course he’s a replicant! And if film adaptations were allowed in this meme, I’d pick Rutger Hauer’s Roy Batty in BR. ;-)

  11. p&p<3

    ahhhh yes!! add mr darcy from Pride and Prejudice <3 he's soo amazing, romantic, sweet, and insanely handsomee!! (have you SeEN the BBC version??) ohhgosh <3

Leave a Reply

