Day 46: a warm day, & a signed lease!

Hawk on a neighboring downtown manhattan rooftop

We threw open the windows of our apartment today for perhaps the 3rd time since we’ve arrived in NYC. The temperature hurtled over 50F! It felt downright balmy. So nice. I’m a person who loves the cold (I prefer 20F as opposed to 90F), but it was getting a leeeeeetul too repetitive there. I feel like the weather’s rounded a corner–the temperatures seem to be headed upwards for good, and I don’t think there’ll be another 8F temperature day again this winter. *waves bye bye to ice storms and blizzards*

For the last 2-3 weeks, we went apartment hunting, with broker in tow (or rather, the broker took us in tow). AWESOME broker. We found quite a few places, and ended up bidding on nearly all of them–and finally ended up in our top choice in the East Village…but not without learning that THE NYC APARTMENT RENTAL MARKET IS A WILY MONSTER. We had to provide a kazillion financial information items (credit, bank accounts, bank account statements, etc, etc.)–more than what we’ve needed to provide during the home purchase process in California. On top of that, we’ve had to provide our dogs’ veterinary records (thank goodness I brought a copy of them with their most recent vaccination reports/checkup report to NYC). Jeebus! I’ve revealed less during a gynecological exam.

At this point, I’ve called the movers, we’ve procured our basic furniture items…and now we wait for the move-in date. I’m tensed for last minute drama, while simultaneously dreading it, while also excited about our new abode.

We’ve also been spending more time in the East Village, in anticipation of our move. Funny how Tribeca/West SoHo neighborhood blogs celebrate their neighborhoods…while the East Village blogs mourn their changing neighborhood (case in point: EV Grieve). Can we just say it? We looooove the East Village. I love that I can get a meal for $2.50 (a small falafel sando at Mamoun’s thank you very much). I love that there are myriad places open 24 hours (Veselka).

It feels good to have signed a lease. We are not going to be homeless.

Also–my eyes, after a month here, are spotting details within NYC. Instead of gazing at high rises, I can now see a hawk sitting on a neighboring rooftop. The fella up above? I spotted him while on the phone. I ran to sneak a few shots of him. I needn’t have run; he sat there for a good half hour, before he ruffled his feathers, spread his wings, and lackadaisically took flight, down into the caverns of downtown.

2 Comments

Filed under New York City

2 responses to “Day 46: a warm day, & a signed lease!

  1. Eric Lutz

    That’s so awesome that you managed to find the apartment of your dreams! I’m already looking forward to coming to visit! :-D

  2. Pingback: Day 270: Why won’t Autumn arrive? | Writing Under a Pseudonym

Leave a Reply

