Bookish Meme

From Twice the Rice…Um, I like this meme so much, I think I’ll do it AGAIN!

1. One book that changed your life:

The Fountainhead by Ayn Rand. Boy that woman is hardcore. I had no idea that one could think of life in that hardheaded, coldly objective way. But it changed me to know that there was such a way to think about things. I aspired to think that way for a short time, and I failed. The failure of achieving that frame of thought changed me.

2. One book you have read more than once:

Jane Eyre by Charlotte Bronte. I think it deserves to be read more than once.

3. One book you would want on a desert island:

Um. The Worst Case Scenario Handbook?

4. One book that made you laugh:

Burden of Ashes by Justin Chin. It’s not funny like Sedaris, but he is so honest and self-deprecating it leads to some very comical moments.

5. One book that made you cry:

Mama Day by Gloria Naylor.

6. One book you wish had been written:

My novel already!

7. One book you wish had never been written:

The obvious answer is Memoirs of a Geisha by Arthur Golden. I’ll also add Breakfast at Tiffany’s by Truman Capote. I really do like that story and I do love Audrey Hepburn in the movie, but I really could have done without the Mr. Yunioshi character. Really, what did the racist portrayal of Japanese add to the narrative?

8. One book you are currently reading:

Blind Willow, Sleeping Woman by Haruki Murakami.

9. One book you have been meaning to read:

a BIG list. Talk Talk by TC Boyle, Teach us to Overcome Our Madness by Kenzaburo Oe, Taft by Ann Patchett…

10. Five people tagged:

It’s a free for all!  (Because ahem, are there even 5 of you out there reading this newish blog?) 🙂

1 Comment

Filed under Memes

One response to “Bookish Meme

  1. zditty

    I have a strong reaction to Ayn Rand, so strong in fact that I can’t read her.

    To me, her philosophy is pure selfishness. Selfishness needs no advocate, and it isn’t to be lauded.

    If you want her philosophy dressed up with occult references and crude sexuality, read the Satanic Bible.

    I am glad you didn’t go the way of Fountainhead

Leave a Reply

