Daily Archives: October 5, 2006

meaning of life?

Not since high school and my college years have I been filled with as much wonder as I’ve been feeling these past few weeks.  Maybe it’s the onset of Autumn with its beautiful light that bathes everything in an angel-glow…or the 80s music and fashion that makes me nostalgic…or maybe I am so exhausted that my brain swirls with questions and ideas in a kind of slow-motion that feels like enchantment.   Things look slightly different these days.

What is the meaning of things?  What is this beautiful thing called an idea?  Where does it come from?

But ultimately, I ask again, “What is the meaning of life?”  A question I had abandoned many years ago and I have picked up again.  What is a meaningful life?  It’s an exhausting question and I find myself revisiting it again, almost despite myself.

The first time I asked that question, in my teens and college years, I was inevitably left daunted and depressed.  Life felt…meaningless.  And I felt…helpless.

This time around?  I feel daunted again, but not so helpless.  There are options…but which one has the greatest meaning?

5 Comments

Filed under Abstract Thoughts, Life