it’s never a good time

Weird how if everything were left to me, I’d probably be in total stasis. When I was pondering the idea of invitro fertilization, all of a sudden I was overwhelmed with the decision: When is a good time to have a child? (You’d be surprised at how many things come up when you decide WHEN EXACTLY to have a baby: “I really wanted to go on vacation, but if I have a kid, that’d put a kabosh on those plans, so maybe I should move the implantation date out…” or “Shit, do I really want to have a baby at the beginning of flu season…” or “Bleah, I don’t want to spend my last trimester during the hottest months of the year…”) I swear, I think that’s why we don’t really get to choose in the natural process of things.

I’ve decided to lose ten pounds. I lost a bunch of weight, and I’ve been in a vigorous fitness regime since last winter and feel so much better. But I think I’d like to be leaner–for one, I’d be able to backpack more comfortably. (Plus of course, my vanity screams for me to do it). I know what I have to do: I have to cut out the pastries and chocolate and uh…Doritos). But…WHEN to do it? It’s the beginning of the holiday season, NOW is not a good time to begin. I’ll also be travelling, and wanting to splurge on some fine dining. Not a good time to begin.

It’s NaNoWriMo time (the idea of nanowrimo being you write a novel in a month).  Besides the fact that the first time I did nanowrimo I got writer’s block…I don’t do it because well, “November’s not a good time for me.”  I’ve tried, with friends to do nanowrimo in October, or September (you get the idea)…but I can’t find a month to slam out 50,000 words (well, I did have time at the writer’s colony but then I got writer’s block–hey, is that a pattern?).

Um.  This post is depressing.  I’m going to stop while I’m ahead.

5 Comments

Filed under Writing

5 responses to “it’s never a good time

  1. Pingback: oh fuck it « Writing Under a Pseudonym

  2. Theories Blogger

    Hunh. Maybe I’ll do it. What the F***

    ‘Cause I just decided tonight with Goddess’ advising to finish the MFA in the spring.

    What I’ll do is write 50K bad, unsubmittable words, and cut ’em down for the thesis.
    here goes!

  3. I have to say this “good time to have a child” idea cracked me up a little bit. There is no good time. Out of my four pregnancies, only one was planned, and that one didn’t end up working out. Having a child is all about relinquishing control once and for all.

    And re the weight loss, I just committed to trying to lose 25 lbs in the next 5 months, yes, right before the holidays. I’ve joined WW in November before and somehow psychologically it has worked for me. WE SHALL SEE.

    And re NaNoWriMo, YAY!!

  4. mel

    Per my friends who are parents: yeah, never really a good time to have a baby, you’re never ready, etc.

    As for losing 10lbs now, you could look at it likes this – if you can maintain working out during the holidays, you’re probably good for the rest of the year.

  5. I have to agree with Mel. Better to start now and take breaks for fancy dinners or holidays, than to wait until next year to begin. Just don’t be too hard on yourself. Take it in moderation (I say as I munch on a chocolate chip cookie). As for kids, I do think some times are better than others, even though no time is perfect. For me, this is a good time – done with school, married (finally), no major commitments. Just need to get that book done now …

Leave a Reply

