Healing for writers

I don’t know if I’ve mentioned this before but there is a wonderful resource for us. I found her via Susan, who mentioned this once ago: there is a doctor just for us writers! Yes. And she heals the wounds and breaks we writers face, covering topics like writer jealousy, writer self doubt, anxieties about writing, and advice on how to carve out time to write in a busy world.

Her column appears every Friday on M.J. Rose’s blog Buzz, Balls & Hype. Today’s post is particularly meaningful for me as my writing process is just so darn slow and I have to keep telling myself all the time, “We all go at our own pace.” I get real down myself for that (plus it doesn’t help when people now say, “Hey you’ve been working on that novel for a loooong time, huh?” She repeats the magical words, in this week’s post.

5 Comments

Filed under Writing

5 responses to “Healing for writers

  1. Yeah, Dr. Sue TOTALLY ROCKS. I love her. (she’s wonderful in person, too)

    And “Hey you’ve been working on that novel for a loooong time, huh?” has got to be my mosted hated conversation piece, ever.

  2. I’m looking forward to reading that post. And did you change your blog or is my computer just sensing that I’m getting hard of seeing? I love the bigger font!

  3. yes i changed the blog template–the previous font was TOO TINY!

  4. I need a doctor! I have writing jealousy, plus writing anxiety, plus writing self-doubt! Wow, I must be sick. (No, really, it’s somewhat serious.) Thanks for the link.

  5. I really liked the dr’s advice.

Leave a Reply

