reading year in review

Momentums did a reading-year-in-review, and because I am out of original thought due to the stroke and yet feeling inspired about last year’s reading list, I am going to follow in her footsteps by doing a similar exercise.

Just to summarize, in 2006, I had no goals–except to just document what I read. I had hoped to reach at least 40 books, but I did not. I read a bunch of litmags and short stories beyond the list, so I’ll give myself some bonus credits. And as much as I do want to say my stroke impacted my reading for 2006, I didn’t have my stroke until December 31st, so that excuse is activated for 2007. 🙂 It seems I average thirtysomething books per year, looking at my past years of reading.

Here is a review of my 2006 readings:

  • I read 38 books
  • I read no poetry collections
  • I read 3 short story collections
  • Nonfiction: 15 works
  • Novels: 20
  • Japanese literature: 8 works
  • Books by men: 15
  • Books by women: 23
  • Books about food: 9
  • “Old” books (pre-20th century): 9
  • Books with “dog” in the title: 3
  • Books about a dog at all: 1

Favorites from 2006:

  • Favorite new author: John McPhee, Yasunari Kawabata, James Baldwin
  • Remaining favorites: Haruki Murakami, Jeffrey Steingarten, Charles Dickens
  • Favorite books: Bel Canto by Ann Patchett, Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night Time by Mark Haddon, Thousand Years of Good Prayers by Yiyun Li, Murakami’s Sputnik Sweetheart, Sound of the Mountain by Yasunari Kawabata and Heat by Bill Buford.

Bleah:

  • Disappointments: The Bridegroom was a Dog by Yoko Tawada, and Prep by Curtis Sittenfeld
  • Can’t stand author: H. Ryder Haggard
  • Worst book: A Million Little Pieces by James Frey (I said BEFORE they found it was a scam that the prose was atrocious).

I encourage you to do your reading year in review, even if you did not make a public list. What did you love reading? What did you learn from most?

Hrm.  Just for the record, this post took a long time to write, probably due to all the counting.  At least it was good for the exercising of my brain.  Exercise your brain, too.

2 Comments

Filed under Reading

2 responses to “reading year in review

  1. That is interesting–three books with title dogs, but only one dog book.

    Bleh bleh bleh on A Million Little Pieces. I picked it up a few weeks before the story broke and couldn’t stand the sentences. I think I made it about six pages in before I surrendered. There are some fantastic drug and recovery narratives out there that don’t require one to suffer through prose trauma.

  2. Tea

    Oh, I loved Bel Canto too. So much. I’m trying to get back into reading for fun and not just for work. I just picked up Heat, but Bill Buford today. Looking forward to it.

Leave a Reply

