Odds

What are the odds that a very close friend of mine also suffered a stroke at a young age? I believe she was in her twenties when she had her stroke years ago, and I had forgotten that she’d had a stroke–the incident seemed like a burp in our lifetimes and one that she made very much light of.

And I, in my ignorance, had made plenty light of it, too. So I called her up.

Hers, she said, was a very light stroke. She was back to normal within a couple days. “Man, your stroke is way more severe than mine,” she said over the phone.

We bonded like old people comparing ailments. “Where was the stroke? Mine was on the left side.” Mine was in the thalamus. “Mine was nickel sized–how big was yours?” I have no idea. “You should ask and find out!” Weirrrd.

Interactions like these and with my professor friend awaken the reality that I need a support outlet, a place where I can chat about what I’ve gone through without having to explain or justify or…try to act NORMAL.  I am all for “being 1%” in many things, but in this case, it’s a bit overwhelming and lonely.

In other news…I have been jotting down ideas for creative fiction work.  The ideas themselves make me giddy.  I think I’m inching closer to the ability to write again.

3 Comments

Filed under The Stroke

3 responses to “Odds

  1. In other news…I have been jotting down ideas for creative fiction work. The ideas themselves make me giddy. I think I’m inching closer to the ability to write again.

    Very good news and very exciting. I imagine it feels like rediscovering a lost love…I hope you continue to have fun with it.

  2. Hi Jadepark… I’m over here from WFME. The girl who pretended that healthy shopping list was mine. I’m using a pseudonym too for a similiar reason as you.

    Anyway girl, what caused your stroke? Do doctors know? I’m sorry you went through that at such a young age. You should definitely look into some kind of support group. Sometimes we tend to minimize our own issues when we think about how much worse others lives may be but I think it’s important to take care of ourselves as much as we take care of others so I’m giving you permission to do that for yourself (sometimes we need someone, even a total stranger) to give us permission. 🙂

  3. Hi August–good to see you here. 🙂
    The updates are scattered throughout my posts, but here are answers:
    1. A clot caused my stroke. I have a hole in my heart. The clot traveled in my heart, crossed the central divider via a hole, and skipping the lungs, went into the aorta and straight into my head where it hit the thalamus. It was a fluke.
    2. I went to the hospital and stayed there for a week where the doctors diagnosed me.
    3. I get to have heart surgery soon to close it and then this will be OVER!

    Thanks for the encouragement.

Leave a Reply

