The Book List (meme)

Oooh–a great book meme from Charlotte’s Web.

Look at the list of books below. Bold the ones you’ve read, italicise the ones you want to read, cross out the ones you won’t touch with a 10 foot pole, put a cross (+) in front of the ones on your book shelf, and asterisk (*) the ones you’ve never heard of. Like Charlotte, I’ve left unformatted the books to which I feel perfectly indifferent.

1. The Da Vinci Code (Dan Brown) I am proud to report that I did not actually BUY the book thereby profiting his evilness, Dan Brown. A friend of mine said I MUST read this book, so I did. I must admit it is an oddly stupefying page turner, but full of horrid craft errors (hello? the dude ends a chapter by writing, “And then he opened the door…” complete with ellipses!). It did NOT help when an MFA peer of mine said my writing reminded her of Dan Brown’s. Bleah.
2. +Pride and Prejudice (Jane Austen) – Jane Austen’s books are very similar. I wonder if all the characters knew each other.
3. To Kill A Mockingbird (Harper Lee) – Kickass book. It makes me sad that she wrote one book (according to a writer I know, 70% of writers only write one book), but if she had to write one, then she did well.
4. Gone With The Wind (Margaret Mitchell) – it was okay.
5. + The Lord of the Rings: Return of the King (Tolkien) – great story, awful writing. I hear Tolkien refused to edit. Um.
6. + The Lord of the Rings: Fellowship of the Ring (Tolkien) – see #5
7. + The Lord of the Rings: Two Towers (Tolkien) – see #5, 6
8. Anne of Green Gables (L.M. Montgomery) – I barely remember this book.
9. *Outlander (Diana Gabaldon) – never heard of it
10. *A Fine Balance (Rohinton Mistry) – never heard of it


11. + Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire (Rowling) – I love Harry Potter.
12. Angels and Demons (Dan Brown) – I hate Dan Brown.
13. + Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix (Rowling) – I love Harry Potter.
14. +A Prayer for Owen Meany (John Irving) – As Owen Meany would say, “I LOVE JOHN IRVING HE USED TO BE MY FAVORITE MODERN AUTHOR BEFORE MURAKAMI DISPLACED HIM.” Seriously.
15. + Memoirs of a Geisha (Arthur Golden) – Not interested. I read a bit of it, but decided, “Not Interested.” You can read my further opinion here if you are interested in part of why I’m not interested.
16. + Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone (Rowling) – I love Harry Potter.
17. *Fall on Your Knees (Ann-Marie MacDonald) – what?
18. The Stand (Stephen King) – never read it.
19. + Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban(Rowling) – I love Harry Potter.
20. + Jane Eyre (Charlotte Bronte) – Jane rox!
21. The Hobbit (Tolkien)um.
22. +The Catcher in the Rye (J.D. Salinger)
One of my favorite books EVER. And definitely one of my favorite characters EVER. Too bad writer dude decided to stop writing.
23. Little Women (Louisa May Alcott)
I thought I liked this book a lot, until I read Salinger and Murakami and Hemingway, etc.
24. + The Lovely Bones (Alice Sebold)
– It was…okay. If this book makes it into the canon, I’ll be surprised.
25. +Life of Pi (Yann Martel)
– Cool premise.
26. +The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy (Douglas Adams)
pretty good for a sci fi book.
27. + Wuthering Heights (Emily Bronte)
– Wuthering Heights or Jane Eyre? I liked Jane Eyre better though I did like the tragic nature of Wuthering Heights.
28. +The Lion, The Witch and the Wardrobe (C. S. Lewis)
– one of my favorite childhood books.
29. +East of Eden (John Steinbeck)
– I love Steinbeck–his characters are wonderfully drawn. The image of Cathy/Kate’s teeth has stuck with me, even years later.
30. +Tuesdays with Morrie (Mitch Albom)
– tearjerker. a good one. But it didn’t change my life.
31. Dune (Frank Herbert)
– I watched the movie. Woo! Kyle MacLachlan.
32. The Notebook (Nicholas Sparks) – someday.  maybe.
33. +Atlas Shrugged (Ayn Rand)
– I used to LOVE Ayn Rand but now I think she’s crazy. Which makes this kind of an interesting read.
34. +1984 (Orwell)
okay.
35. *The Mists of Avalon (Marion Zimmer Bradley)what is this?
36. *The Pillars of the Earth (Ken Follett) huh?
37. *The Power of One (Bryce Courtenay) huh? Is this a self help book?
38. I Know This Much is True (Wally Lamb) Wally Lamb is an okay writer. Not great.
39. +The Red Tent (Anita Diamant)
– this book was pretty good.
40. *The Alchemist (Paulo Coelho)wuh?
41. The Clan of the Cave Bear (Jean M. Auel) –
I remember reading this book in junior high or high school. Man, Ayla had a lot of sex!
42. The Kite Runner (Khaled Hosseini) – I see this in the bookstores all the time. Ho hum.
43. *Confessions of a Shopaholic (Sophie Kinsella) is this chic lit?
44. The Five People You Meet In Heaven (Mitch Albom)I’m interested–sounds like a good read when I have the flu and I’m snuggled up in bed. I’d like to know who I’ll meet when I die (if I go to Heaven).
45. +Bible –
I read it as literature in college, and as spiritual guide as a child.
46. +Anna Karenina (Tolstoy)
Tolstoy is a master.
47. The Count of Monte Cristo (Alexandre Dumas)s’ok.
48. +Angela’s Ashes (Frank McCourt)
sad, so very very sad.
49. +The Grapes of Wrath (John Steinbeck)
I like Steinbeck.
50. +She’s Come Undone (Wally Lamb)
– hohum.
51. The Poisonwood Bible (Barbara Kingsolver) – ok.
52. A Tale of Two Cities (Dickens)
– Dickens is a master at storytelling. It was the best of the times, it was teh worst of times…hello? is that not the shit!?
53. Ender’s Game (Orson Scott Card) – not interested.
54. + Great Expectations (Dickens)
– Dickens is the shit!
55. + The Great Gatsby (Fitzgerald)
– Okay. My favorite novel of all time.
56. * The Stone Angel (Margaret Laurence) – what?
57. +Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets (Rowling)
I love Harry Potter.
58. The Thorn Birds (Colleen McCullough)
– who cares.
59. The Handmaid’s Tale (Margaret Atwood) okay.
60. The Time Traveller’s Wife (Audrew Niffenegger)who cares.
61. +Crime and Punishment (Fyodor Dostoyevsky)
Dostoevsky is the shit! I loved this book.
62. +The Fountainhead (Ayn Rand)
Best of Ayn Rand’s books–she crazy! But fascinating. Howard Roark! What a character. I have a friend whose hubby’s last name is Roark…I had this book on the mind when I kept calling her husband Howard. Sorry.
63. +War and Peace (Tolstoy)
– a masterpiece.
64. Interview With The Vampire (Anne Rice) –
I read the book in high school way before the movie, even though vampires freak me out! It was good. The movie sucked.
65. +Fifth Business (Robertson Davis) –
it was good.
66. +One Hundred Years Of Solitude (Gabriel Garcia Marquez)
this book is the shit. Marquez is a master.
67. The Sisterhood of the Travelling Pants (Ann Brashares) ho hum.
68. Catch-22 (Joseph Heller)
it was ok
69. +Les Miserables (Hugo) –
one of my favorite stories while growing up. i even watched the musical.
70. The Little Prince (Antoine de Saint-Exupery)
i don’t remember this book but i know i read it.
71. +Bridget Jones’ Diary (Fielding)
– *sigh* i do remember this book. it was good, but not a classic and i think i’d rather have remembered the little prince.
72. +Love in the Time of Cholera (Marquez)
Marquez is wonderful, I wish I could write like him, I wish I could have a glimpse into his mind and slip into his body for five minutes while he’s writing.
73. Shogun (James Clavell)never read it. don’t care.
74. The English Patient (Michael Ondaatje)
hohum.
75. The Secret Garden (Frances Hodgson Burnett)
hohum.
76. *The Summer Tree (Guy Gavriel Kay) – huh?
77. A Tree Grows in Brooklyn (Betty Smith) – huh?
78. +The World According To Garp (John Irving)
I loved Irving. This, along with A Prayer for Owen Meany (and A Widow for One Year) are my favorite Irving books.
79. *The Diviners (Margaret Laurence) yawn.
80. + Charlotte’s Web (E.B. White)
One of the BEST children’s books ever.
81. * Not Wanted On The Voyage (Timothy Findley) ?
82. Of Mice And Men (Steinbeck)
I liked East of Eden and Grapes of Wrath better than this book.
83. Rebecca (Daphne DuMaurier) – ….
84. *Wizard’s First Rule (Terry Goodkind)- ???
85. Emma (Jane Austen)
s’ok.
86. Watership Down (Richard Adams)
– I freaking LOVED this book. Warrior rabbits!
87. +Brave New World (Aldous Huxley)
This book was the bomb! I loved it.
88. + The Stone Diaries (Carol Shields) – maybe.
89. * Blindness (Jose Saramago) – ?
90. Kane and Abel (Jeffrey Archer) – ??
91. In The Skin Of A Lion (Ondaatje) – whatever.
92. +Lord of the Flies (Golding)
one of my favorite books from my childhood. this book is brutal! i loved it.
93. +The Good Earth (Pearl S. Buck) –
Olan was soooo sad.  The season where she gives birth and what she does to the baby is heartwrenching.
94. +The Secret Life of Bees (Sue Monk Kidd)maybe someday.
95. The Bourne Identity (Robert Ludlum)Jason Bourne! Matt Damon!
96. The Outsiders (S.E. Hinton)
I loved this book when I read it as a child.
97. White Oleander (Janet Fitch)
– Wasn’t this an Oprah book?
98. *A Woman of Substance (Barbara Taylor Bradford) – hohum
99. The Celestine Prophecy (James Redfield)
Who cares.
100. Ulysses (James Joyce)
– Joyce is a genius but I don’t understand him at all.

Stats:

  • Read 64
  • Own 42
  • Want to read 11
  • Indifferent 23
  • Never heard of 14


4 Comments

Filed under Memes, Reading

4 responses to “The Book List (meme)

  1. Pingback: The Book List meme « Charlottesville Words

  2. Wait – what’s the symbol for “read, but did not like?”

  3. Orion

    I know I’m missing the typographical point of this exercise, but I thought I’d comment on the list because it’s an interesting list.

    1. The Da Vinci Code (Dan Brown)
    yuck
    2. +Pride and Prejudice (Jane Austen)
    Read it in high school. Was also in the play in high school (was Mr. Cot, if I remember correctly). Good book.
    3. To Kill A Mockingbird (Harper Lee)
    Excellent book. One of the best. Wonder if Truman Capote actually wrote it or if she really only wrote one great book and stopped.

    4. Gone With The Wind (Margaret Mitchell)
    whatever.

    5. + The Lord of the Rings: Return of the King (Tolkien)
    whatever

    6. + The Lord of the Rings: Fellowship of the Ring (Tolkien)
    ibid

    7. + The Lord of the Rings: Two Towers (Tolkien)
    ibid.

    8. Anne of Green Gables (L.M. Montgomery)
    Liked the TV show.

    9. *Outlander (Diana Gabaldon)
    Liked the movie (if it’s the same thing)

    11. + Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire (Rowling)
    Harry Potter and Haruku Murakami are the only things I read now.

    12. Angels and Demons (Dan Brown)
    give me a break.

    13. + Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix (Rowling)
    see 11.

    15. + Memoirs of a Geisha (Arthur Golden)
    yuk. started reading it on a recommendation and it TOTALLY SUX!

    16. + Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone (Rowling)

    See 11 and 13.
    18. The Stand (Stephen King)
    I used to be a total Stephen King fanatic (when I was twelve). I read The Stand when I was thirteen and I remember a lot of it still.

    19. + Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban(Rowling)
    See 11 and 13 and 16

    20. + Jane Eyre (Charlotte Bronte)
    I’m sure I read this in college, but I don’t remember anything about it.

    21. The Hobbit (Tolkien)
    A good read in third grade. Wouldn’t probably read it now.

    22. +The Catcher in the Rye (J.D. Salinger)
    Like To Kill a Mockingbird, a perfect masterpiece.

    23. Little Women (Louisa May Alcott)
    Didn’t read it. Saw the movie because one of Winona Ryder’s friends wanted to see it.

    24. + The Lovely Bones (Alice Sebold)
    don’t know it

    25. +Life of Pi (Yann Martel)
    don’t know it.

    26. +The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy (Douglas Adams)
    I was obsessed with this when I was twelve. Was recommended by my piano teacher.

    27. + Wuthering Heights (Emily Bronte)
    Great read. I’ve read it about three times. The movie w/ L. Olivier sux.

    28. +The Lion, The Witch and the Wardrobe (C. S. Lewis)
    These were good when I read them when I was eight.

    29. +East of Eden (John Steinbeck)
    Didn’t read it. Steinbeck is really annoying.

    30. +Tuesdays with Morrie (Mitch Albom)
    don’t know it.

    31. Dune (Frank Herbert)
    Dune is a SciFi classic. Don’t usually read SciFi, but this one’s worth the effort. Stranger in a Strange Land is better.

    32. The Notebook (Nicholas Sparks)
    don’t know it

    33. +Atlas Shrugged (Ayn Rand)
    Yikes.

    34. +1984 (Orwell)
    Boring platitudinous. Orwell is as profound as a pothole. Yevgeny Zamyatin’s “We” is the same book, decades earlier.

    35. *The Mists of Avalon (Marion Zimmer Bradley)
    My mom was really into this. I never saw the appeal.

    36. *The Pillars of the Earth (Ken Follett)
    don’t know it.

    37. *The Power of One (Bryce Courtenay)
    don’t know it.

    38. I Know This Much is True (Wally Lamb)
    don’t know it.

    39. +The Red Tent (Anita Diamant)
    don’t know it.

    40. *The Alchemist (Paulo Coelho)
    don’t know it.

    41. The Clan of the Cave Bear (Jean M. Auel)
    I was an ENORMOUS FAN OF THIS BOOK when I was in sixth grade. It’s the main reason I went to archaeology camp. I even saw the movie, although is sucked a LOT. The other books in the series also sucked a lot. I haven’t read it since then, so maybe it sucks a lot, too. But, I really really really liked it at the time.

    45. +Bible
    Only read chunks of it. Genesis is good, the gospels are good, the book of Job is good, Ezekiel is good. The rest, don’t know.

    46. +Anna Karenina (Tolstoy)
    I’ve owned three copies of this and never read it. Russian fiction is very hit-or-miss with me. Loved the Brothers Karamazov, Ada (Nabokov), and Lolita (also Nabokov), but it didn’t come easily

    49. +The Grapes of Wrath (John Steinbeck)
    Good, but cloying like the rest of Steinbeck

    52. A Tale of Two Cities (Dickens)
    Didn’t read it, but I probably should.

    53. Ender’s Game (Orson Scott Card)
    This is good quality SciFi. Rosaclaire gave it to me to read.

    54. + Great Expectations (Dickens)
    Hmm… the only Dickens I’ve read is Bleak House and Our Mutual Friend.

    55. + The Great Gatsby (Fitzgerald)
    I spent a few years of my life trying to emulate this book.

    61. +Crime and Punishment (Fyodor Dostoyevsky)
    See 46.

    62. +The Fountainhead (Ayn Rand)
    Yikes. Ayn Rand again. Wasn’t she friends with Alan Greenspan?

    63. +War and Peace (Tolstoy)
    See 61.

    64. Interview With The Vampire (Anne Rice)
    Saw the movie. Kirsten Dunst was the only good thing about it. Didn’t make me want to read the book.

    66. +One Hundred Years Of Solitude (Gabriel Garcia Marquez)
    Very very good.

    67. The Sisterhood of the Travelling Pants (Ann Brashares)
    Saw the movie, wouldn’t read the book.

    68. Catch-22 (Joseph Heller)
    Good book, good movie.

    70. The Little Prince (Antoine de Saint-Exupery)
    One of the greatest books of all time.

    71. +Bridget Jones’ Diary (Fielding)
    Saw the movie, wouldn’t read the book.

    72. +Love in the Time of Cholera (Marquez)
    very very good also.

    73. Shogun (James Clavell)
    This was in my aunt’s house for a long time. Never read it.

    74. The English Patient (Michael Ondaatje)
    blech… blech blech blech BLECH!

    75. The Secret Garden (Frances Hodgson Burnett)
    I read this book when I had bronchitis. I empathised with the little gimpy boy. Good book.

    80. + Charlotte’s Web (E.B. White)
    Classic. Must be read by everyone.

    82. Of Mice And Men (Steinbeck)
    God. Steinbeck again. Replace everything by Steinbeck on this list with something by Hemingway and we might have something to talk about.

    92. +Lord of the Flies (Golding)
    Worth reading. A bit of a heavy handed allegory.

    93. +The Good Earth (Pearl S. Buck)
    O-lan was SOOO PATHETIC. It sucked to be her. I had to read this in an hour and a half.

    95. The Bourne Identity (Robert Ludlum)
    I tried to read this. I loved the movie, but the book was utterly unreadable.

    99. The Celestine Prophecy (James Redfield)
    Are you kidding me?

    100. Ulysses (James Joyce)
    If I could take the semester seminar, I’d read it. Otherwise, Joyce isn’t worth the trouble. He should have written it in English.

  4. Orion–your list is HILARIOUS. I am going to go back and put in my commentary as well, just for kicks! I think we are weird reader-twins (with a few exceptions), for I too love Murakami (ahem, I owe you forever because you introduced me to him and now he is my artistic Muse) and the Harry Potter books greatly these days.

    And YES—who came up with this list of 100 books? It’s the wackiest list (Dan Brown, Dostoevsky, Salinger, Wally Lamb, Aldous Huxley, Helen Fielding?! Etc., etc., etc.)

    Susan–I bolded AND crossed out books I read but did not like and would not touch with a ten foot pole. 😛

Leave a Reply

