Completion on a larger scale

murakami

Earlier, I wrote about reading my first short story post-stroke, the titular story of his collection, Blind Willow, Sleeping Woman. I began reading Haruki Murakami’s short story collection almost two months ago, in halting steps, sometimes only a page a day, determined to make my favorite author my first read under these new circumstances.

I secretly hoped that in my vulnerable state, and in the process of rebuilding, that I would take on some of his talents, and incorporate these stories deeper into my conscience.

I have made steady progress through the book, looking forward to those few pages a day, feeling my brain go fuzzy very quickly at first, and then holding onto clarity weeks later and pages later, feeling my progress and feeling the stories pierce my psyche farther and faster. In this way, reading the book has given me hope, and in this way, I have participated in Murakami’s imaginary worlds.

Last night (can you believe it?) I finished the book. 332 pages. Dozens of short stories.  I clapped the book closed, to great satisfaction.

This morning, I added it to my 2007 book list.

5 Comments

Filed under Reading, The Stroke

5 responses to “Completion on a larger scale

  1. w

    How much does this rock?? So much.

  2. Whoohoo! Congratulations on this great progress!

  3. snazzy cool. I’ve heard props on Haruki Murakami’s work…any suggestions on what book a newbie like me should start with?

  4. His most “mainstream” book is Norwegian Wood–his “masterpiece” is considered to be Wind Up Bird Chronicle (though his last novel, Kafka on the Shore is also highly lauded)…his best short story collection, imho, is “After the Quake” but many laud his most recent short story collection, Blind Willow Sleeping Woman.

    FWiW, I read “Wind Up Bird Chronicle” first–made me fall in love with his storytelling!

Leave a Reply

