page 123 meme

IMG_4234

From Loud Solitude, who got this from Ed Champion:

Turn to page 123 in your work-in-progress. (If you haven’t gotten to page 123 yet, then turn to page 23. If you haven’t gotten there yet, then get busy and write page 23.) Count down four sentences and then instead of just the fifth sentence, give us the whole paragraph.

So, from page 123 of my novel “in progress”:

I smelled the Rabbit Woman. She had never had a scent before, but now every time I sniffed the air, the smell of her cut through all the other smells in Manhattan’s Chinatown. Sure, the smell of dried pork flakes drove me a bit insane, but in that mix, the Rabbit Woman’s smell stood out. She smelled like fresh soil and green grass and mountains; together, those smells added up to the image of the Rabbit Woman. She was here somewhere. And if she was here, then so was Myung-Ja, somewhere on the other side of the universe.

p.s.  It will not be in 1st person for very long–part of my revision entails changing POV (I began at page 1 and am reworking my way back to page 123 and beyond).  But it sure was interesting to look at this again.

10 Comments

Filed under Memes, The Novel, Writing

10 responses to “page 123 meme

  1. w

    I love that smells can add up to an image of the thing or person being sought out. This is lovely.

  2. Oooh, you’ve intrigued me. Now I want to see what’s on the other side of the universe…

  3. Great paragraph! I can’t wait to read your book!

  4. P.S. Here is mine: It felt good to slice an onion. I felt useful. When I finished, I proudly presented Jane with a cutting board full of diced onion, which she scraped into a pan jumping with beads of hot olive oil. When she was done cooking, we feasted on plates of ratatouille, butter noodles, and a bottle of Bordeaux. Jane asked me why I’d come to Paris and when I told her, she asked me how many shows I’d booked.

  5. Pingback: 123 Meme « Swimming Upstream

  6. Rabbit Woman seems so alive. I also love the other side of the universe line. Also noticed that you and Loud Solitude both randomly use the word universe. Serendipidy.

  7. Mmm, Rabbit Woman is so intriguing. And I love the way that the narrator is tracking her down by her smell (my children accuse me of things like this).

    What a great meme idea. I’m going to do it on my blog!

  8. It is a great little meme, isn’t it? This particular one got me to look at my novel again after a two month break!

    Yes–Rabbit Woman is being hunted by the narrator who doesn’t know that he has taken on bear-like characteristics (which include a great sense of smell).

  9. I was going to do this one, but then I turned to page 123 in my WIP and I *hated* it. It made me depressed. So I felt like, No WAY would I post this on my blog. But I love Rabbit Woman!

  10. akrypti

    Hey! I did this on my WIP and it just so happened to contain the word “jade.” Haha.
    ===

    “She drove Yian to the outskirts of town, showing him the abandoned parts of the Old Erie Canal, where water took on the color and calmness of jade. The verdure of the region struck Yian the most, like an otherworld of chlorophyll. Rosabel, with her hoop earrings, lipstick and halter, single-handedly threw the visual off balance. No one could have recognized her to be a child of Camilla. She looked wholly urban, transformed by her time in and love for Manhattan, and yet she pointed out the types of plants that grew along the water’s edge and noted to him the difference between a fragile forktail and eastern forktail damselfly.”

    That’s, hm, a really long paragraph now that I look at it in a comment box………..

Leave a Reply

