The Mozart Effect

IMG_5153.JPG

I once iterated my writing playlist here, with Mozart’s Requiem topping the list of music. I have found that if all else fails, Mozart’s Requiem will awaken my writing muse, because maybe She is a really morose sort who loves the idea of a Requiem.

The other day, we drove around in the car listening to Mozart’s Requiem. It was a beautiful day, all green and blue, not like the colors of a bruise, but the colors of a newborn Spring landscape. “I write to this music,” I said to my husband, even though I was pretty sure he knew this fact already.

He replied, “It’s the Mozart Effect.”

What?

“The Mozart Effect. Your IQ actually goes up by about five points when you listen to classical music, particularly Mozart.”

Hrm. I pondered the music’s effect on my writing, and what doors Mozart’s music may unlock in my mind. I certainly believed the theory of the intellectual boost for sure, given its effect on my writing. And given my need for a creative boost, I think I’ll listen to some Mozart and see where that choreography leads me.

5 Comments

Filed under Miscellaneous, Writing

5 responses to “The Mozart Effect

  1. Jade – I feel the same way about Mozart’s Concerto for flute and harp. It never ceases to get my juices flowing, it revivifies a joy for life. 🙂

  2. Hmm. Perhaps I should try this. I’ve been dragging along with one short story for months. Would be nice if there were an online link to Mozart! Actually, I’m sure there must be, somewhere.

  3. Heh… actually, the Mozart Effect is that some guy wrote a book full of pseudoscience and sold a bunch of copies, and somehow mass numbers of people got convinced that listening to Mozart makes them smarter.

    I have read many essays by students over the years on the subject, and every one that was researched at all showed pretty convincingly that the theory doesn’t hold water. (The ones that claimed it was true mostly relied on anecdotal evidence, and on the main book itself.)

    Which doesn’t mean you can’t be inspired, or shouldn’t listen to Mozart, of course… whatever works for you! I listen to Bach and to The Prodigy and both have different, but powerful, effects on my writing. Personally, I think Bach is better for my mind than Mozart. There’s too much pretty melody for me in Mozart — theme and accompaniments — where Bach’s so mathematically lean and angular. In fact, I feel like Western music went wrong when it began to follow Mozart’s lead, instead of pursuing contrapuntal music to its most remote extensions.

  4. Have you read ‘An Equal Music’ by Vikram Seth?

    ‘The finest novel about music ever written in English’ – Daily Telegraph

Leave a Reply

