Stranger than Fiction’s strangest reality

I love the movie “Stranger Than Fiction”–the movie that stars Will Ferrell as Harold Crick, an IRS auditor who finds that his life is being narrated by a voice….a voice that belongs to a merciless fiction writer named Karen Eiffel who suddenly has control over his destiny as a character in her novel.

It’s a pretty fantastic storyline. Hearing a voice? A writer having control over a real person’s life? A real person’s life intersecting with that of a character’s novel? Pretty fantastic. But I believed it–somehow, it rang true to me, at least on a metaphorical level.

But the part that really was stranger than fiction? That didn’t ring true AT ALL?

That part would be when the writer, Karen Eiffel (played by Emma Thompson), gives Harold Crick her manuscript to read–the original, hand scribbled and typed pages. Because she’s typing on a typewriter with no computer in sight, one can only assume this is her ONLY copy of the manuscript. No flash drive, no second copies, NOTHING. She gives him her ONLY COPY of her novel.

NO WAY!!!!!

p.s. I LOVED the movie.

4 Comments

Filed under Writing

4 responses to “Stranger than Fiction’s strangest reality

  1. I watched this movie one night when I was home by myself and when I reached just that moment I shouted out loud into the empty apartment those exact words: NO WAY!!!!

    I mean, seriously, that is the most implausible thing I can imagine. Her only copy of the end of her novel??? The very end she was having so much trouble writing? Who wrote this movie?! I spent much time trying to explain it to myself… did her assistant make a photocopy? Someone must have made a photocopy. Then why not give Harold Crick the photocopy??? I couldn’t figure it out. It’s insane, truly insane.

    This post made me laugh.

  2. mel

    I watched a second time and recently thought, “Wait, if she’s writing that he’s calling her in the subway station, does she KNOW that he realizes he’s a character? Is she writing about him making this discovery? WTF is going on??”

    I still love this movie, though. It almost made me want a typewriter.

  3. No way indeed!
    Have you read The Comforters, by Muriel Spark? It also has this typewriting narration heard by a character thing. It’s one of my favorite novels, minimal and wryly funny and fantastic in the best way.

  4. Ha! Yes. I’m glad I’m not the only one who thought it was nearly IMPOSSIBLE for a writer to give up the original copy of her novel manuscript!

    And as a friend I discussed over lunch the other day, another unbelievable facet was the character of Queen Latifah–as IF a Publishing company would send an assistant to “help” you finish your novel. But really, I did love this movie, despite these stretches.

    Lucette: I haven’t read anything by Murie Sparks yet–but now you have me intrigued!

Leave a Reply

