submissions part II: rejection, rejection

rejection

It’s the hottest day of the year.  And heat taxes me.

Rejection, rejection, rejection, rejection. Count ’em: four. Fourth one for the same story arrived in the mail today. Ugh. The nicest one, of course, from Howard Junker at ZYZZYVA, whose notes always leave a writer able to stand on her two feet somehow. ANNNND–he uses a full 8.5 x 11 sheet of paper for his rejection note!

But mostly, the rejection slips are just that–slips. About 3 inches wide and 8.5 inches long. There are four of us rejected writers to a page!

I’m still sending my stuff out, even with my imagination on vacation. Some days, it’s more comforting for me to send stuff out, because it’s a whole lot easier to lick envelopes, print out cover letters, write out addresses, and hunt down postage than it is for me to face the page of the story.

But face the story I must.

6 Comments

Filed under Publishing, Writing

6 responses to “submissions part II: rejection, rejection

  1. Good for you for sending stuff out. You will get that story, and many more, published as long as you don’t give up.

  2. Tea

    When I worked at the literary agency part of my job was to send out rejections. I remember my predecessor telling me how she would put the stack of rejections in the mailbox, and when it hit bottom with a thud, she thought, “That’s the sound of a writer’s heart breaking.”

    Though, for what it’s worth, we always used a full sheet of paper.

  3. thank you for the encouragement–it does help to hear it all, especially after the rejection notes.

    and Tea: yay for the full sheets of paper! Those little “slips” add to the disappointment, really.

  4. Pingback: From under the cloud of ash at pinkyspaperhaus

  5. mel

    That’s good you’re sending things out, though. You’ll get a full piece of paper with an acceptance soon, I’m sure.

  6. Send a story to Kartika Review! =)

Leave a Reply

