A full life

fuschia

I have been keeping myself distracted busy, trying to iron out details and take care of tasks before I’m out of commission for a few days, post-surgery. When I close my eyes, I want my mind to be clear of nagging worries–the fridge should be full, the bills all paid, the books balanced, and the laundry done. Same for things at my job.

When I’m lucky enough that a friend calls me up to do lunch, I eagerly say yes. So we eat pizza and guffaw at fennel, all in a good day’s work. I’m happily distracted.

Of course, I google information about my surgery on the sly–Patent foramen ovale surgery….and what of the recovery? How long will it take to recover? Will there be any pain? Agh. I need to stop thinking about it. I hear it takes up to a week to get back to work fulltime. And that the incision point is the source of most discomfort. That’s all. I’ll update you later.

…back to being happily distracted! What pleasant thing was I writing about? Ah. Friends!

Yes–! This week, I met a new friend in Elizabeth of Fluent. We met “in real life” and wondered aloud as to how one would take an online, written correspondence, into spontaneous real life interaction. But we’re writers. We’re used to having a written life coexisting with an interactive life somewhere else. And we managed. We managed well!

So attractive were we to our fellow diners that our table was quite the attention getter! Diners asked us what we were eating–perhaps our faces spelled out comfort and joy and they attributed it to the dishes on the table? (We were eating a chicken curry and a beef bavette dish…plus a chicken bun as a starter).

Oh shush–it wasn’t the food, it was US! πŸ˜› Really.

My community just got larger by one, and I think my soul and writing will grow as a result. Writing is a solitary act…but I always desire a community–in fact, a big reason I enrolled in an MFA program was the desire for a writing community.

Ironically, as I have written previously and learned, friendships have an awkward existence inside of an MFA program. Artists tend to be jealous of each other, and an MFA program engenders jealousy and competition. I’ve been lucky to make a few friends, and I met more than a few writers I respect…but for the most part, I do a lot of social ducking and diving. And still I end up hurt sometimes.

So where do we writers go for friendship? So far, I’ve made lasting (writing) friendships outside of my MFA program–at writing conferences, at a writing colony, online, through other friends–just about anywhere outside my MFA program’s ecosystem.

It’s a bit odd–like walking through a prairie and finding a frog and fish. Or meeting a penguin in the desert.

6 Comments

Filed under Life, MFA, The Stroke, Writing

6 responses to “A full life

  1. i will miss you while you are away. i will miss your photos and your writing. i’ve grown accustomed to coming here and finding an update almost every day.

    your when i was 25 entry was very moving. i was going to lift it and write something similar for myself but got derailed yesterday and it will have to wait until i’m ready to write again.

    be well. post before you go to surgery so we can send you mojo, pray, and lift you in our thoughts.

    x0
    christine

  2. I wanted to wish you well for your surgery and for all the distractions to come after. Your dinner with Elizabeth sounds perfect!

  3. Hi christine: thank you so much for your well wishes, i feel your genuine concern and that means a lot to me. i’ll only be in the hospital one night, and so that means only a day or two of missing blog posts. πŸ™‚ so do not fear!

    nova: thank you, too! and my lunch with Elizabeth was great. i’ll eventually meet you too, no? πŸ˜‰

  4. Good luck with your surgery! When is it?

  5. tomorrow–i’m trying not to think about it.

Leave a Reply

