rallying forces

IMG_9500.JPG

I’m rallying forces. I want to say that despite my moody thoughts, I am happy. I’m not in a pit of unending misery, but I am feeling thoughtful and introverted and I am on an inward search for my own answers. I am definitely feeling lost, something that this goal-oriented, likes-to-plan-things-out-and-strategize person is not very comfortable with. But I guess being lost has its rewards, too.

Earlier this week, we had a team builder at work–we went on a massive scavenger hunt throughout the City, solving puzzles, collecting information and points throughout the day. It was, for lack of a better phrase (or maybe this is the best phrase to describe it), “loads of fun.” I loved my team, and we actually ended up winning the whole thing. (RAR!)

So–why can’t my search be fun, too? It should be. The outcome will be huge, greater than the scavenger hunt, and mysteries lie before me. The rewards are hauntingly great, the terrain challenging, and I may be at times morose or joyful, sometimes both at the same time. I don’t know where I’m going, sometimes there are no such things as hints, and I’m definitely alone in this journey, but I can give myself relief, too.

Aside from trying to attain this psychic balance, I’m trying to gain energy. (I *hate* being so tired ALL the time!  It’s especially maddening because physical exercise does not exert me so much as thought.)

I’m going on a trip starting next week–we are heading to Europe, to France specifically, for a friend’s wedding. A weeklong trip, where we’ll hit London and Paris and the Burgundy region of France. I’m not liking the fact that we’re going in August (my least favorite month for traveling, especially in Europe)…but there will still be lots to sightsee and I haven’t been to France in nearly ten years.

Any suggestions for France and Paris? I’m not so familiar with those places (I was in Paris once, but I was not in charge of my own itinerary). I’ve got two days in Burgundy, and two days in Paris, and am trying to make the most of it. I don’t know if my energy will sustain itself, but it’s worth a try.

And–it looks like we’ll be in Paris for my birthday. 🙂

11 Comments

Filed under Life, Travel

11 responses to “rallying forces

  1. ChaEsq

    Enjoy your trip – safe travels and good times to you, esp. on your birthday! (BTW, they enjoyed the cupcakes!)

  2. Violeta

    I’m very much a “goal-oriented, likes-to-plan-thing-out and strategize person” too and have a terrible time feeling unmoored. Maybe this time will end up making you stronger, and enriching you (and your writing) by having the opportunity to move around at a different psychic distance than you usually do?Have a lovely trip!

  3. ChaEsq: I am looking forward to this trip–I just LOVE traveling, even more so now. And I am so glad they enjoyed the cupcakes! They look SO DELICIOUS.

    Violeta: it is precisely my hope that this new experience of being “lost” or as you brilliantly put it, “unmoored,” will help me gain new perspective–and I am hoping yes, that my writing benefits from it somehow. Already, I know that being sick has slowed me down–and slowed my writing down (ie., literally slowed it down…and helped me slow down scenes too). Thank you so much for your good wishes, they mean a lot to me!

  4. Liz

    Paris for your birthday?! OMG! Have a fantastic time and take lot’s of pics for your a jealous reader (me). You deserve it, have a wonderful time. 🙂

  5. connie

    I will email you with Paris suggestions!

  6. Darling, you can always just get lost in Paris, wandering around the food shops and then hail a cab when its time to get back to the hotel. I’d suggest doing something completely decadent like NOT having an agenda or itinerary. Just wander comme un flaneur…
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Flâneur
    Son la joie de la vie des parisiens qui leur font l’envie du monde – l’imbiber vers le haut ! Its the joy of life of Parisians that make them the envy of the world – soak it up!
    Oh, and get to Mariages Freres!!! I’ll miss you heaps!
    (Oh, again! The reason that I think life isn’t quite as fun as a treasure hunt is in the stakes involved – honour amongst ones fellow pirates is one thing – livelihood, family, safety and security in real life are something very different. Try to enjoy it anyway cause sometimes a very special thing comes along without us even realizing it.
    Bon voyage!!!

  7. More is at stake in your personal search? And you don’t have a team: it’s all up to you, which is harder–no one cheering.
    Have a great trip!

  8. hyunjini

    Your blog has been a consistent source of inspiration (and valuable information) to me, a complete stranger who happens to share your love for writing and books. So, I thank you. And undoubtedly, you have the support from this fellow sojourner.

    Happy travels!

  9. Man, you guys are all so awesome. Thank you for your words.

    Liz: of course I’m taking pictures! :0

    Connie: thank you for the list!

    Eric: good suggestion–I’ll embrace getting lost (both figuratively and literally)

    Lucette: Well you are cheering. 🙂

    hyunjini: thank you so much for your kind words and positive thoughts. your words are so sweet and wonderful!

  10. momentumsnli

    I’ve had this page open for a day now while I was insanely busy with work, and just now reloaded to find that David Lebovitz agrees with my number one suggestion: L’As du Falafel is a culinary treasure. Here are the reasons we ended up going there 8 times in 10 days:
    –the food is fantastic. perfect, even. perfect. the falafel “special” as-is is particularly good.
    –the guys are hilarious and friendly
    –unlike much of Paris, the Marais (where L’As is located) is open late, even on Sundays. It’s the intersection of two districts: the gay district and the Jewish district. That means there is hopping night life and no one closes on Sunday!
    –less than a block away, there is a church with big stairs, right across from a theater and the lovely little Rue Aubriot. You can sit on the steps at midnight, eating your perfect falafel, and watch people at the theater and the quiet small-street life of Paris. Every night, we’d eat dinner, go back to our apartment, and go out for falafel.

    My other food suggestion is also in the Marais–Le Petit Picard. It’s the sort of small, traditional, reasonable restaurant that filled my pre-travel dream world of Paris. Best escargot of my life, great steaks (au poivre! yum), and all-around delicious desserts. We never needed reservations, the waiters were great, and in three visits, we never had a dish that wasn’t stellar. We only went for dinner, but apparently it’s a neighborhood favorite for lunch too.

    Have a fantastic time!

Leave a Reply

