Oscar Wao shows up in my mailbox

IMG_9895.JPG

It’s here! It’s here! I’m excited–as many of you know, I’m a big Junot Diaz fan. I love him as a person, an activist, and as a writer. (One of the best things that happened to my writing conscious was the pure luck of landing in his workshop one summer). I’ve missed him, but in recent months I’ve been seeing him more often. His writing has appeared with more frequency in the past couple of years, after a long period of silence.

First, a story quietly appeared in the Gourmet Magazine 2006 summer fiction supplement (yes, a food magazine), then I read “Wildwood” with glee when it appeared in the New Yorker this summer…and then another article appeared in Gourmet’s Latin American food focused issue last month (he wrote about the Dominican eateries in Upper Manhattan–it had me salivating!). It’s been a trickle…and now there is a glorious flood of pages and words from Junot.

The long awaited novel, The Brief Wondrous Life of Oscar Wao is here.

p.s. Do you love that golden light on the book? There was amazing light yesterday evening. Sadly, the light’s credit is due to the fires all over and around Northern California yesterday–the Lick fire in Morgan Hill over 50 miles away, and another fire in Plumas County 200 miles away. The smoke has blown here and turned the sky a solid light gray, the sun red and the light golden.

14 Comments

Filed under Reading

14 responses to “Oscar Wao shows up in my mailbox

  1. Did you see the review in the NY Times this week? It was amazingly positive. I admit I have not really ever read much Diaz, other than what’s been in the New Yorker, but I’m definitely going to pick this one up.

  2. Can I borrow yours when you’re done? I want to read it, but need to stop buying books for a while. I buy way more than I can read.

  3. I can’t wait!

    Bustopher: I’ll buy you a copy–I get super possessive of any of my first edition, hardcover books (it’s a new obsession of mine and I know that it’s weird but it’s a new weird thing).

  4. Andrew

    Heh, this is the first time I can ever say, no foolin’: I went to school with that guy.

  5. I’m jealoous! I think I’ve told you before how much I love his writing. I don’t know if I can wait another night for this book.

  6. love junot diaz, ever since i had read “drown”. like you, i also read the amazing “wildwood” from the new yorker. i have it on my books to buy list and i’ll probably have it soon!

    like you too, i have an obsessiveness when it comes to my hardcover first editions. i usually do not lend them to anyone lest they bruise it. call me crazy but i’d rather buy my friends a new copy rather than lend them mine.

  7. also, i am totally jealous of you being in diaz’s workshop. for me, i am trying to land a spot in lynda barry’s writing workshop. if you haven’t read “cruddy”, i highly recommend it!!! also, i dare you to read “one hundred demons” and not be charmed by her.

  8. No worries, Jade! I’ll get it from the library or wait until it comes out in paperback.

  9. w

    Saw him briefly yesterday at a reading he gave near my office… and I hadn’t even realized he was giving a reading there till the last minute! Just missed him, though, and caught the line waiting for him to sign books. I asked those waiting how the reading was. “Fantastic!” “Brilliant!” Etc. 🙂

    I hope you’re enjoying the book, lady. No, I know you’re enjoying it. Time to get my own copy.

  10. jp: read salon’s review of the book! i got my book yesterday and will start reading it after i finish john irving’s “the fourth hand”.

  11. Andrew: I am weirdly jealous of you!

    nova: I hope you are well immersed in his prose by now.

    no milk: Ah, it feels good to know someone understands this first edition hardcover obsession of mine! (And “Wildwood,” it turns out, is an excerpt from the novel)….I’ll check out Lynda Barry….and thank you for the salon review! (And yes, I too LOOOOOVE John Irving).

    Bustopher: thanks for understanding!

    w: that’s so f*cking awesome–see? another reason it’s the sh*t to live in NYC!

  12. funny how small the world is! if your copy of the book was sent from Junot’s publisher, I was most likely the person who sent it out! I was an intern at Riverhead at the time.

  13. maria: how funny! life is weird.

  14. Pingback: Fiction Expectations « Writing Under a Pseudonym

Leave a Reply

