Dumbledore outed!

I just read the news that JK Rowling has outed Dumbledore. When a fan asked her whether or not Dumbledore finds true love, she replied:

“Dumbledore is gay,” the author responded to gasps and applause.

She then explained that Dumbledore was smitten with rival Gellert Grindelwald, whom he defeated long ago in a battle between good and bad wizards. “Falling in love can blind us to an extent,” Rowling said of Dumbledore’s feelings, adding that Dumbledore was “horribly, terribly let down.”

Dumbledore’s love, she observed, was his “great tragedy.”

This is, I am hoping, a contributing act towards tolerance and ultimately, acceptance. I am hoping that the generation of children who have all read the books and come to love the wise and brave Dumbledore, will help the world set aside its homophobia.

And I am also curious as to how this will affect upcoming box office performance–will the Christian Right be picketing at every movie theater?  Or will their children drag them into the movie theaters with them.  Go Dumbledore’s Army!

10 Comments

Filed under Reading

10 responses to “Dumbledore outed!

  1. I’m kinda stunned and surprised…

  2. I know! I read somewhere that die hard fans had surmised that Dumbledore was gay–but I had not, whether it was my own assumptions, or JK Rowling’s huge subtlety in Harry Potter about the subject.

    But now that this is out (so to speak), I hope it works for good and not just for publicity.

  3. well, it very very much explains his openness towards EVERYONE from werewolves to mixed blood (i won’t use the M word… heh) wizards.

    one wonders after the death of lily potter, where snape falls though. Oooooh the scandalous fan fiction of a dumbledore snape tryst.

    ewww. on second thought.

  4. oops. i hit submit.

    I read a lot of fictional characters and don’t even think/question/ponder about their sexuality. and i know i read dumbledore as neither gay, straight, active non-active… he just is.

    and i think the vast majority of children don’t read literature and wonder about the sexual preferences of the characters unless it is explicitly written out that they are married/dating/snogging etc.

  5. w

    Check out this brilliant reaction!

  6. christine: i know! now i’m wondering about all the other characters’ love lives. !!!!

    w: that is the BEST. OMG!

  7. Eve

    Hi, Jade. I have a completely different take on this, and it has nothing to do with tolerance.

    I’m sad about it, because I think she’s being a fool on several different levels and had actually planned to write briefly about it myself from a Jungian perspective. I’ll do that soon.

  8. That people would gasp upon finding out a fictional person is gay made me chuckle so hard the water I was swallowing trickled out of my nose.

  9. renaissanceguy

    I recommend going to Eve’s blog and reading her excellent post.

    I feel that Ms Rowling played a cheap trick on her public and expects us to just lick it up like gullible dupes. Well, I’m not licking.

    If she wanted to write a gay character then she should have just done so. If she really wanted to portray a gay character in a positive light, then she wouldn’t have written him as a lifelong bachelor who kept his orientation a secret.

  10. Lamberakis

    Is the tragic gayster the new tragic mulatto? Oh, Jo.

Leave a Reply

