Grey points

First, disclaimer: Yes, I watch “Grey’s Anatomy”–even though I’m beginning to feel the show has jumped the shark…or at least, it’s teetering on the sharky brink. Still, I watch the show–I’m hooked on all the characters (though I’m beginning to dislike Izzy…and T.R. Knight (who plays George) is GAY! They can’t be together! Because he’s GAY! George, G*d bless his soul, is cute, but in a “let’s hug him and pinch his facial cheek” sort of way, not a “let’s hug him and pinch his butt cheek” sort of way for me–and I keep seeing brother/sisterly love when Gizzie’s on screen–which makes me cringe).  And seriously, they’ve all round robin slept together, fallen in love with each other (except for Cristina…but Izzy’s now slept with Alex and George…Meredith’s slept with Derek and George…hey, George is getting the most action).

Okay, that’s over with.

I watched this week’s episode on my TiVO/DVR (it’s not really a TiVO, but I call it a TiVO, like when I call facial tissue paper Kleenex, even when it’s plain wrap brand and not the actual Kleenex). Two points.

1. When Izzy says she’s going to shave her legs for the evening’s “special sex occasion,” I guffawed. Seriously. I shave my legs whenever I shower (which is almost always everyday). It takes THREE minutes. Is shaving one’s legs that much of an Occasion?

2. When Meredith tells the patient that that feeling of clarity after surviving death eventually disappears…I have to say it’s true. The euphoria /determination /appreciation /clarity I felt after surviving my stroke…it’s not so much anymore. It’s a weird sort of dissipation.

3 Comments

Filed under Miscellaneous, The Stroke

3 responses to “Grey points

  1. Ha. Shaving my legs is a huuuuge occasion. I do it to signal the coming of summer, like sometime in May. Then sort of sporadically until Novemberish, and then not again until summer. It takes a huge effort.

  2. Well I am enlightened, Susan! I have just made it part of my routine to shave my legs everyday–just like slathering face cream on my face every night…but I guess it’s just as easy to have it fall out of routine.

  3. Violeta

    I second Susan’s comment. It’s a bit of an occassion for me too.
    And, I’m with you on the Gizzie brother-sister thing.

Leave a Reply

