Guilty Pleasures Meme

Tagged by the individual voice…and also check out charlotte’s web for hers.

A note from moi: I am not a fan of the phrase “guilty pleasures”–I don’t really feel guilty for having these acts of comfort and delight. But I did list things that I do that I find secret joy out of doing, things that are sort of secret because they’re not things I do in groups or in public.

SIX GUILTY PLEASURES NO ONE WOULD SUSPECT ME OF HAVING

  1. Hugh Grant movies (ie., Four Weddings and a Funeral, Love Actually, About a Boy, Bridget Jones, Notting Hill…). I love them. I will watch them over and over. I don’t have a crush on HIM, but I just like his characters.
  2. Chewing on my fingers. I do. It’s bad.
  3. Sometimes, I just sit on the couch and stare at the wall for a looooong time. It’s the simple luxury of time. I don’t know how long I’ll have this luxury, but I do indulge it.
  4. I loooove People magazine, and celebrity gossip websites. It’s awful. It’s a problem. Kind of.
  5. I like my job. It’s in high tech, it has nothing to do with writing, but I still like it a lot. It takes time away from my writing–but what to do? I’m going to keep working and writing for as long as I can get away with it.
  6. I really like having had cosmetic surgery done on my eyes. It really did change the way I saw myself, and made me feel oh-so-much better.

SIX GUILTY PLEASURES I WISH I HAD THE COURAGE TO INDULGE

  1. Totally downgrade the comforts of my life and take total time off just to write with great intensity, for a year or two.
  2. Walk around without makeup everyday.
  3. Move to another country, preferably somewhere cool and foggy. (We have a place in mind).
  4. Raise chickens. It’s a bizarre urge. And it doesn’t take courage so much as willpower to do it, I think.
  5. Get liposuction (seriously). I hate my belly fat. But I don’t feel like risking my life to get rid of it (I work out, I do sit-ups and crunches, and it’s not awful and I’m in good health, but it’s still THERE). But then I keep thinking about how much better I felt about myself after having my eyes done…OMG, my guilty pleasure is cosmetic surgery!
  6. I can’t think of any more. I’m pretty self indulgent as it is.

SIX PLEASURES I ONCE CONSIDERED GUILTY BUT HAVE EITHER ABANDONED OR MADE PEACE WITH

  1. I like television. I watch it all the time. So there.
  2. I love food. I indulge. I stop when I’m full. But I eat wonderful, wonderful food. So there.
  3. I spend lots of money and time on skincare products. So there.
  4. Until my mid-twenties, I had one pair of shoes (usually sneakers, since they were so all purpose). It never occurred to me to have several pairs, or even ones just to match particular outfits, or even ones to just stare at it in awe. But that all changed when my mother-in-law started showering me with shoe gifts. I felt sooo guilty having them all…but I grew to love all the shoes…and they’ve changed the way I dress and feel, outwardly. Who knew?
  5. Writing. I thought it would be fanciful, that it was not pragmatic, that I should quelch this drive. But ha.
  6. ….?
8 Comments

Filed under Memes

8 responses to “Guilty Pleasures Meme

  1. I also wish I had the courage to downgrade and devote a couple of years to writing. Sigh. ‘Tis not meant to be.

    Love all the food, the shoes and the sitting on the sofa staring at the wall.

  2. Cosmetic surgery on your eyes? When did that happen? Before I knew you?? I thought you were talking about LASIK! Wow! (LASIK falls under my “wish I had the courage to indulge but it’s now too late because at this point I am so old I look better with glasses than without)

  3. I love this list, peeking into things you value or enjoy that you might not normally mention. I know, I have this attraction to TV, too, that is so soothing even though I always feel, as a writer, I SHOULD be reading instead, but reading takes thinking and TV is pure zoning out in mindless blissland, so opposite the rest of my life. Yes, I am more into unusual footwear, boots really, than I would normally care to admit. And I, too, would love to dump my job and write full-time, though I have a love-hate relationship with my job and so that vacillates.

  4. I share the Hugh Grant secret, oh yeah! Actually I have a bit of a crush on him too, but to my friends I am as romantic as a wet Tuesday. Little do they know of the Hugh Grant rom-com stash I have under my bed…

  5. Eye jobs! I am too chicken, mainly b/c I saw so many bad varieties coming out of college (dude I saw a very crooked one during Yonsei and that scared me). and it takes time for them to settle…that said, my dad got a little work done b/c his lids had sagged so much…and it looks GREAT!! On the other hand, I think my eyes are waaaay froggier than his so for now I will live and love the puff that are my eyeballs. Well, for now.

  6. BTW don’t let anyone tell you otherwise..don’t feel guilty about plastic surgery.

  7. charlotteotter: Time is such a luxury, isn’t it? I guess for most of us, we just head off to writing colonies to have a taste of that life!

    Susan: yes! I had it done before I met you.

    the individual voice: …I am watching the TV right now…

    Jane: aha! Maybe he attracts women who are secret romantics. I don’t think I come off all that romantic to others, either.

    arirang: I went all the way to Seoul to have it done (it was on sort of a whim ten years ago)–it HURT (no one told me it would hurt)! In the U.S., they’d give you versed and you wouldn’t remember a thing from the surgery…but I remember every single moment. But it was all over quickly and the healing was fast.

    And I can wear eyeshadow now!

    My mom, the ultimate pragmatist, told me that it was better to get it done sooner or later, should my eyelids start to sag. 😛 Whatever–I did it for western-standardized vanity, I’m the first to admit it.

  8. I hear you on the Hugh Grant movie thing. “About a Boy” is a particular treat, in my book.
    And I hear you on the celebrity gossip! My husband never ceases to be amazed at how much I know about celebrities’ personal lives, early careers, childhoods… Maybe this is an NF thing (NF as in Myers-Briggs personality types), because we’re so people-focused?

Leave a Reply

