The long weekend is for sleeping

IMG_1406.JPG

I don’t think I’m as recovered as I thought. Every afternoon of this long weekend, I sleep, and then wake up for dinner. And then I go back to bed early and sleep some more. Wake up late. At first, I thought it might have been an oncoming flu–but no. There are no flu symptoms. Just an overwhelming exhaustion.

I’ve been working hard these last couple of weeks. At my job, and at finishing up my thesis. Been working fulltime. Waking up at 6am, driving in to the City, coming home past dinnertime. I like my job, it’s no form of torture to do this. I had no idea that it was taking so much out of me though.

But of course, now I hit the last stage of my recovery…the land of secrets. I don’t want to tell people I’m lagging at all. My life is fully engaged, and I don’t want it to let up, I’m sick of being sick. I’ve been offered a fulltime job by my boss, post-graduation. I’ll be starting fulltime, January 2. “I want to know that if I need you at work, you’ll be here–I’m asking a big thing, to put work first.”

Yes. I took a fulltime job. I’ll make the time to write, I always have.

But I don’t want to let on how much this is taking out of me. After all, I’ll be fully recovered eventually, won’t I? And then this whole nagging exhaustion won’t be such a big deal.

7 Comments

Filed under Life, The Stroke

7 responses to “The long weekend is for sleeping

  1. psiness

    My god, you’ve been that tired and you’re still going to take a full time job like that? Pretty brave venturing there.

  2. I’m hoping it works out for you. Don’t be too macho about it, though. Health first, then writing, then job.

  3. Congratulations on the job offer!

    I do hope your exhaustion lifts soon.

  4. Congrats on the job, but as Tiv says, health first. I certainly don’t want to discourage you, but when my responsibilities were doubled at my job, I knew it was too much to handle, but I figured I could handle it. I’ve been on burnout for seven months now. Which isn’t all that bad mind, because this way I have plenty of time for writing. I’m not saying everyone who works hard will end up like me. But just make sure you get the rest you need.

  5. Wow, it’s exhausting just reading about it. I am not working full time and I had to take several naps this weekend, too. I just hope you will not feel this tired every weekend. I think new schedules take getting used to, but if you are trashed every weekend, how WILL you write? I’d say then, it’s not worth it.

  6. please rest up for as long as it takes.

  7. psiness: wish me luck. I’m hoping this is just a temporary phase.

    the individual voice: I’ll be keeping a close eye on myself, coupled with hope.

    nova: thank you! I hope my exhaustion lifts soon, too.

    Smiler: Thank you for the encouragement–I’m hoping this isn’t a permanent state, and that it will pass. I’ll account for plenty of naptime–and I’ve got about a month before I go to work “fulltime”

    Susan: I’m definitely concerned–but maybe it will get better. I’m hoping it will–there’s really no other way!

    arirang: I’m going to go to bed early all week this week! 🙂

Leave a Reply

