Favorite short story collections

IMG_0493.JPG

I listed my 10 favorite short stories last year…

And then fog city writer listed her favorite short story collections. So I thought I would list mine (and mind you, I need to read more short story collections). In no particular order…

  • The Girl in the Flammable Skirt, Aimee Bender
  • Drown, Junot Diaz
  • A Thousand Years of Good Prayers, Yiyun Li
  • The Nimrod Flipout, Etgar Keret
  • After the Quake, Haruki Murakami
  • Interpreter of Maladies, Jhumpa Lahiri
  • Mothers and Sons, Colm Toibin
  • A Bit on the Side, William Trevor
  • Skin, Roald Dahl
  • The Complete Stories, Flannery O’Connor

With a special shout out to Toni Cade Bambara’s collection, Gorilla, My Love and my favorite short story in there, “The Johnson Girls”

9 Comments

Filed under Memes, Reading

9 responses to “Favorite short story collections

  1. Hey, you shorted Yiyun Li by 900 years! Isn’t it One Thousand Years of Good Prayers?

    Lovely collection of collections, thank you…

  2. You are soooo right, Leila! Brain burp. It *should* be A Thousand Years of Good Prayers.

  3. fogcitywriter

    I’m ashamed to admit that I haven’t read even half of your list of collections! The first three have been at the top of my reading list for some time now though. I’ve heard nothing but good things about them. I’ll have to check out the others, too!

  4. heather

    I’m back on the short story form, so I’m going to be checking these out! I *adore* Charles D’Ambrosio’s Dead Fish Museum…pure word gluttony, that one.

  5. fogcitywriter: hope you do! your list gave me inspiration as well.

    heather: i just picked up Dead Fish Museum last week!

  6. I’m going to check out the ones I haven’t read!

  7. I don’t read many short story collections, but love Li, Bender and O’Connor. There’s also Bad Behavior by Mary Gaitskill and Dubliners, which is great. I’ll have to think of others …

  8. nova: hope you enjoy them!

    bustopher: ooohhh–yes, Mary Gaitskill! I loved her “Because they wanted to” collection.

  9. Andrew Jacobson

    I love that you posted your list of favourite short story collections. Even better, I am so glad that William Trevor is part of your collection. A bit on the Side is an old favourite of mine, that I always keep revisiting. I recently downloaded it off http://www.audiobooks.net in audio version, which is great as I can take it with me where ever I go.

Leave a Reply

