Meditating

I’m weird.  Not for any particular reason.  Just weird.

Like the fact that I find sitting in an MRI machine comforting.   Wrapped in a blanket, the clicking and grinding sounds muffled by earplugs, lying very very very still (trying hard NOT to sneeze, trying very hard to breathe even, deep breaths), with my eyes closed in a tight tunnel…being in that small space makes me focus and relax.

I just empty my mind–just let myself float, imagine being in a womb, or a wide sky above me.

This morning, I did just that.  I let my mind swim in the murky space between sleep and consciousness, “almost asleep.”  It was jarring to emerge from the MRI.  I wanted to curl up and sleep some more, imagine more open spacees.

Why is it that such a tiny space makes me open my mind?

Answer: I’m weird.

1 Comment

Filed under Life

One response to “Meditating

  1. I don’t think it’s weird. I’ve never had an MRI, but I’d probably like it, too. When I was a kid, I used to go up to our attic (which was three feet high, hot and dusty) and just hang out because it was small and quiet and dark.

Leave a Reply

