A good day

I had a good day today.

I went over to AWP mid-morning and made it to a couple of panels. I toured the book fair. I got overwhelmed and went back uptown to my hotel and…

The hubby and I walked to a very late mid-afternoon lunch and then over to the Met. Where we saw lots of beautiful works of art. As we walked out, there was a man singing his heart out. What a fine soundtrack for the city before us.

IMG_0671.JPG

The sky was blue, the light golden. The bare trees made lacy patterns and dressed the skyline up.

IMG_0677.JPG

I was happy to see there were books uptown, too…

IMG_0679.JPG

It was time to rest. I had just an hour to gather my energy up before going out again.

I took a cab ride–with a taxi driver who performed  a surprising act of kindness (I will blog about this later) to a midtown dinner (yes, I ate meals back to back) with Susan, and feasted on foie gras (what else) and moules et frites. And had a nice cocktail. I love a city where I don’t have to worry about drinking then driving.

The grand finale was John Irving’s keynote speech at AWP. Here’s my fuzzy picture of him. You’ll just have to believe me when I say it really is John Irving.

IMG_0717.JPG

He was amazing. I couldn’t stop scribbling notes. My right hand cramped up. I kept going. I was so inspired. Before I began to read Murakami, he was my favorite writer. I have read everything of Irving’s except Son of the Circus and Until I Find You.

Still, the night did not end. As we walked out of the conference, we spotted Ray’s pizza. I could not resist. I bought two slices to take back to the hubby.

1 Comment

Filed under Life, Travel, Writing

One response to “A good day

  1. I used to love John Irving, too, and read most of his books when I was living in Paris. How exciting to hear him speak!

Leave a Reply

