another city, more sleep

IMG_3504.JPG

In Vegas! But don’t be too jealous. My life’s been work, sleep, work, sleep, work. This afternoon was our only afternoon off, and what did we do? We slept (just as we did in London).

In the spare moments, I’ve done my fair share of obsessing–for instance, obsessing about all my stories out for submission. Some of them have been out for about three months (does that mean I’m a contender? Or not). Some of the litmags, like Sycamore Review are in the homestretch of decision-making, and some are just plain slow. Ugh–the hope is killing me!!!! I hate that I’m hoping.

Oh, and there’s always web browsing…

Poets and Writers has a “tools for writers” page, with lists of grants, awards, litmags, and such. But I think duotrope has a more comprehensive list of litmags.

And a friend of mine sent me this link to a terrific video, “When a Brain Scientist Suffers a Stroke.” I mean, not terrific about the brain scientist, Jill Bolte Taylor, having had a stroke. But she is a wonderful speaker and her description of her stroke is just tip-top and on point. Her stroke is both eerily similar and different from my stroke, but the sense of disembodiment and “weirdness” is all there. If you want to know what a stroke is like, and learn a little about the human brain, check the video out. It, and she, are entrancing.

Anyway, I’m tired. So exhausted. My grammar sucks (it’s the first thing to go when I’m tired. I’d say it’s a post-stroke thing for me, but I’ve always sucked at grammar and it gets worse when I’m tired), so excuse any errors above.

And yes–we were in Vegas last year (for the same conference, at the same exact hotel) when we were struck with the horrid news. This week has had some very odd echoes for us. But we doggedly got through it. Now it’s time to decompress.

2 Comments

Filed under The Stroke, Writing

2 responses to “another city, more sleep

  1. Eve

    Jade, thanks so much for sharing the link to Jill Taylor’s presentation. I was captivated by it, and moved by the emotion she shared, too. It was pretty mind-blowing and provides a lot of food for thought.

  2. Eve: I am glad you liked it. I love that video.

Leave a Reply

