cycle of seasons, circle of life

IMG_3588

After the last post with my April fool’s joke-in-bad-taste…I feel the need to hurry up and follow up with a new subject matter! (Quickly, quickly, quickly! I’m totally red faced and embarrassed. And I’m sorry for making so many of you worry).

So here’s a new subject: Man, the gopher is back.

I thought perhaps it/he/she had left the garden. Not a peep for months throughout winter. And so, I went forward with spring planting without putting down a net or fine chicken wire to keep the gopher out. I really should have dug up the garden bed at least a couple of feet in depth and put a barrier down. But I didn’t. I was too lazy and impatient.

I plowed (figuratively speaking, because I didn’t actually plow this garden) forward. I sowed some seeds, planted a couple of tomato plants because I wanted a garden! The sun is out, the temps are rising, and the image of tomato laden plants and carrots and radishes and fresh cut herbs–too tempting.

And I’ve paid for my lack of preparation. The gopher has come into the garden and taken down a tomato and broccoflower plant.

IMG_3584.JPG

Seriously. The plants went straight down into the ground, with only a little hole and soil disturbance as evidence of their prior existence. Darn gopher! I have a tough growing season ahead of me. I put a sound emitting stake into the ground and hoped for the best.

Oddly enough, I’m trying to do the opposite with my novel writing. Just plow forward and not worry about the details and the foundation too much. And gophers? They’re a welcome thing in a novel–something tricky, something annoying!

I want the unexpected in my story, the annoying and pesky characters. I want the story to take off, become messy and complex. There’s no story in a perfect garden void of critters and gophers. There’s no story when desire is fulfilled.

And so, the story of the garden continues. I hope it continues to inspire me with its twists and turns.

Last year, I planted the garden because I was homeridden after the stroke, and also grief ridden after a death in the family. I wanted to nurture some life. I found even the gopher delightful–the idea of life underground was invigorating.

This year? I actually want some vegetables. But in lieu of that, I’ll take inspiration.

4 Comments

Filed under Inspiring, Life, The Novel, Writing

4 responses to “cycle of seasons, circle of life

  1. I still can’t believe that post was a prank.

  2. Susan: I’m sooo sorry. 😦 I was actually incredibly touched by all of you who reached out with concern (and also relieved by those of you who got the April Fool’s joke). I thought I had made it kind of obvious by saying he googled “and” and “the” and “really” and “writing” and then going over-the-top with the maniacal laughter but I guess I wrote a semi-believable first person stalker letter.

    Anyway. I’m not doing any more April Fool’s jokes!

  3. The point where you mentioned the googling “and” and “the” and “really” and “writing” was the exact point where I realized I’d been had!

    I think this quote from your post above is such great advice for writing a novel, and something I want to consider as I move forward:

    “I want the unexpected in my story, the annoying and pesky characters. I want the story to take off, become messy and complex. There’s no story in a perfect garden void of critters and gophers. There’s no story when desire is fulfilled.”

    I love that.

  4. messy and complex. gophers. I’m going to go with that today. Thank you Jade.

Leave a Reply

