more “stranger than fiction” insights

IMG_3578

I like lots of movies (many of them starring Drew Barrymore and/or Hugh Grant) but the one I tend to discuss most often on this blog is “Stranger Than Fiction” mostly because of its relevancy here. I know, this blog has a wide range of topics, but one of the consistent subjects I discuss is writing. And the movie is about writing. So…yah.

And I just had another realization about the movie about the lives of a writer, Karen Eiffel, and her main character, Harold Crick, intersecting. He happens to also be a man in real life, and he happens to hear her narrative. As she types her main character’s demise, he becomes frantic…and without giving the movie ending away, nothing ever happens in his real life until she types the words on the page.

In other words, she can imagine what happens…but until the word hits the page, it is not real.

And so, on my writing day off (they’re Wednesdays now, not Fridays)…I have to push myself. I can imagine all I want, but the story ain’t there, until the word hits the page. Keep typing.

3 Comments

Filed under Writing

3 responses to “more “stranger than fiction” insights

  1. I’ve never thought of it that way. I just imagine my people, all standing around with their mouths open, waiting for me to get them moving again. If I wait to long, they get sore necks and are grumpy and monosyllabic, so I try not to leave them alone for too long.

  2. it seems real enough in my head, when i’ve taken 3 tabs of acid.

    of course, that doesn’t help me as a writer. usually things get lost between though and expression, but you can only do the best we can.

    homer never committed the illiad or the odyssey to paper. did it become real when he recited it to others? i imagine the answer must be yes.

  3. bloglily: i like that image–maybe that’s why my novel’s characters are so reticent these days–i left them alone for over a year!

    bookfraud: and, as i wrote in a later post, it not only becomes real…but it becomes fuller and rounded. he recited (as we write) with an audience in mind, and so the need for details and characters and all the things that round out an idea…

Leave a Reply

