bye bye Cody’s

bleah.  Cody’s books is closing for good next month.  Bleah.

6 Comments

Filed under The World

6 responses to “bye bye Cody’s

  1. Not next month: YESTERDAY.

    Double, triple bleah.

  2. I’m not happy. They were only open two months in that location.

    Still I do wonder about their complaints that nobody is buying books. Other bookstores are doing well. Pegasus outlasted Barnes and Noble just a few blocks south of there. It’s really too bad though…

    My MIL lives a block from Black Oak and says that they were sold recently; still open. She says the new staff are all in their twenties. I haven’t had a chance to stop in and shop there. No word in the press about the Black Oak sale so I can’t confirm, but she knows all the smart bookish altekackers in Berkeley including Pat Cody herself, so I assume her info is decent.

  3. Darn. Darn. Darn. Cody’s Closed? That breaks my heart! I knew it was coming, but for some reason, I thought Cody’s owner would change his mind and realize how important his literary oasis is to daffy, bright-eyed/bushy-tailed Cal students (like me) living in the heart of Berkeley. Darn. Darn. Darn. End of an era and all that jazz.

  4. This is a bummer. But Leila’s right — there are a lot of healthy independent bookstores in Berkeley. The trouble with Cody’s is that they made some dumb decisions — to open up on Stockton Street in San Francisco, to open up the store on 4th Street, among them. Anyway, I’m sorry to see them go, but I don’t think it says anything about the health of independent bookstores in the Bay Area.

Leave a Reply

