what i’m doing what i’m not writing and what i’m not doing when i’m not writing

IMG_7377

What I’m doing when I’m not writing:

  • I am watching the Shiba Inu Puppy Cam–positively addictive. It’s a live camera feed of shiba inu puppies! I’ve been watching them since they were 3 weeks old, when they would glom onto their mother to feed (and when she’d get sick of them, they’d still be hanging off her teats). They’re now almost 2 months old. Eating solid food, squabbling with each other, attacking the pee pads. Still very cute and forming their individual personalities. And this week they made it onto New York Magazine’s approval matrix! They scored a brilliant.
  • I am tending to one of my wiener dogs. She tweaked her neck/back and isn’t doing so well. On crate rest. Occasionally whimpering, and occasionally thumping her tail against the crate.
  • Working the desk job. It’s a good job.
  • Going to the David Sedaris reading. (“Knock knock….Who’s there….I eat mop….)
  • Watching television. A part of me wishes there was a writers’ strike again. Except for the fact that that would probably delay the season premiere of “Lost” and I could NOT bear that!
  • Mulling over Ward Six’s question about whether writers need interesting lives or interesting minds in order to write. I think an Interesting Mind is critical path–without that, no experience can translate into “interesting.”
  • Accidentally buying maternity shirts at Walmart (seriously! There are some cute finds at Walmart! Mix and match the Marc Jacobs with the Walmart! 😛 I thought they were really cute blouses until I got home and was like, “hrm…they’re big. Hrm….the brandname is “Announcements…” hrmmm… OH. NO….). In the midst of baby announcements left and right (my friends are expecting, and having, babies left and right). Congratulations! *gulp* Congratulations!!!! …*gulp* Weirdness galore.
  • Watching brilliant autumn sunsets.
  • Going to the farmers’ market and reveling in the produce.
  • Reading. I just read J.M. Coetzee’s Disgrace, which is a masterpiece. And am now reading Tayari Jones’ The Untelling
  • Traveling. I love traveling. To the detriment of my writing. Well, unless one thinks writers need interesting lives in order to write (refer to Ward Six’s question above).

IMG_7607.JPG

What I’m not doing when I’m not writing:

  • I’m not exercising. I think this also is to the detriment of not only my health but my writing.
  • I’m not cooking. I haven’t cooked as much as I used to, even though I have been eating in a lot more often. Hrm. Does that make sense? I guess my meals aren’t as elaborate.
  • I’m not taking those fertility meds anymore. They made me feel utterly crazy, and extenuating circumstances…I just have tabled the whole thing for awhile.
  • I’m not tending to my garden. My tomato plants look gnarly.
  • I’m not even taking care of my nails. Egads. They need some polish. Chanel blue satin!
  • Writing. I’m not writing nearly enough, even though I’ve got the structure finally down and I can SEE the end of the novel!
11 Comments

Filed under Life, Miscellaneous

11 responses to “what i’m doing what i’m not writing and what i’m not doing when i’m not writing

  1. SenNim

    The puppies are so addictive, and so distracting. I thought I’d outsmarted myself by playing the livecam on a smaller computer, and working on the main, but my eye kept wandering over to watch them instead.

  2. h

    I am on an absolute Coetzee binge right now (actually came to the computer to update my books-read list with The Life and Times of Michael K and got sucked into the internet). If you haven’t read Waiting for the Barbarians, I would recommend that one–I liked it even more than Disgrace and more than the couple of others I picked up in its wake. Starting Foe this afternoon!

  3. le

    oh god, shiba inu puppy cam. i can’t stop watching it either and have passed the link to everyone i know.

  4. Okay, brilliant brilliant title for this post.

    And you can see the end of your novel, that’s fantastic!

    Someone at work ran into my office last week and was like you HAVE to come to my office RIGHT NOW. So I thought something terrible had happened. I dropped what I was doing and ran in there after her and she points madly at her screen and goes, “Puppieeeeeeeess!” She’d found the puppy cam. 🙂

  5. Okay, brilliant brilliant title for this post.

    And you can see the end of your novel, that’s fantastic!

    Someone at work ran into my office last week and was like you HAVE to come to my office RIGHT NOW. So I thought something terrible had happened. I dropped what I was doing and ran in there after her and she points madly at her screen and goes, “Puppieeeeeeeess!” She’d found the puppy cam. 🙂

  6. Sorry for the double comment. Weird.

  7. The shiba inu puppycam rules the world! Can you imagine the power it would have if let’s say, the hollywood screen writers’ strike were THIS season? All eyes would be on the puppycam!

    This week what I am doing when I’m not writing is: prepping for Thanksgiving.

  8. anonwupfan

    But what about what you were not doing when you were writing about what you were doing when you were not writing and what you were not doing when you were not writing?

  9. Hi there,
    Happy Thanksgiving. I’ve been reading your blog on and off for some time and recently added you to my reader. I feel like I should tell you and introduce myself otherwise I’m sort of spying on you. Don’t you think?
    Anyway, as far as writing goes I had to have a little self talk the other day and recall that although I love writing and love when I’m in my writing, writing is not more important than my health, my relationship with God and the people who are sitting at the kitchen bar right now as I type this and peruse other blogs. I can really fall prey to the thinking that writing is where it’s at all the time – but just like a good job, it needs some balance. I liked your comment about having an interesting mind in order to be a writer. I’ve often thought the same – that it takes a good thinker to be a good writer. It’s kinda one of those ‘which came first, the chicken or the egg’ kinda things. I think the brain and the person come first, writing simply branches out from the main info centers. Anyway, now that I’ve outed myself on your blog, I may be commenting more often. Thanks for your blog, I enjoy it.

  10. anonwupfan: 🙂

    Kristin: thank you for coming by and staying and reading and saying hello!

  11. Zuerst spielte ich mit meiner Zunge an seiner Eichel… dabei schmeckte ich seine Lusttropfen, profile er zuvor versprüht hatte. Ich leckte ihm pothole Schwanz for richtig ab… von der Eichelspitze bis zum Sack.

Leave a Reply

