F is for Fall

aspens

F is for Fall. Every year, I wait for the sunlight to wane into pale yellow streaks that color a white wall ivory, for the evening temperatures to fall, to celebrate leaves that turn into fiery colors until they drop as if burnt to a crisp, and break out my scarves from the closet. Oh, Fall.

I’m creative during Fall. I like cooler weather…and perhaps because of my lifelong pattern of returning to academic studies in the Fall, my work ethic seems more honed. Or maybe it’s because I grew up a chubby child ashamed of her pudgy self, and prefer to wrap myself in clothing. I’m not a summer sort of person, I’m never comfortable in a swimsuit, I don’t like to tan, I don’t like the heat, I prefer to do summer activities like hiking in the Fall (Autumn is when the mosquitoes die–hooray!), and I don’t even like the long days.

Give me a sweater. A jacket. A scarf. Boots. A book. Ingredients for apple tarte tartin. Pumpkins. Cinnamon. A blanket. Fuzzy slippers. Hot tea. Give me Fall.

——

Joining Charlotte’s Web, The Contact Zone, Asiatic Fish, and Fog City Writer in working through the alphabet with short, memoir-like pieces. It’s called Alphabet: A History.

Previous letters:

8 Comments

Filed under Alphabet: A History, Memes, Memories

8 responses to “F is for Fall

  1. Patrick

    Wife and i were just talking about how we shold move to a place with actual seasons, just so we can experience a “true” Fall season – complete with Fall colors.

  2. I am just loving this series…

    And this (“Give me a sweater. A jacket. A scarf. Boots. A book. Ingredients for apple tarte tartin. Pumpkins. Cinnamon. A blanket. Fuzzy slippers. Hot tea. Give me Fall.”) To me, it sounds like perfection.

  3. heather

    I love how tight this post is! I wish I felt the same about Fall. 🙂

  4. Pingback: I is for introvert « Fog City Writer

  5. Pingback: My « Ten Years Ago » Project « Smithereens

  6. Pingback: G is for Gatsby « Writing Under a Pseudonym

  7. Pingback: H is for Heat « Writing Under a Pseudonym

  8. Pingback: I is for I | Writing Under a Pseudonym

Leave a Reply

