writing playlist

IMG_2534.JPG

The other day, a friend asked me what’s on my iPod’s “writing playlist.” (If not in quiet, I write to two items on my iPod: Mozart’s Requiem…or my writing playlist). I promised her that I would share my playlist, which is as follows (in order):

  1. Come to Me (Peace) –Mary J. Blige
  2. Beautiful – Akon
  3. Viva La Vida — Coldplay
  4. Death — White Lies
  5. Everybody’s Changing – Keane
  6. Death and All His Friends – Coldplay
  7. Chasing Cars – Snow Patrol
  8. Fix You – Coldplay
  9. High – James Blunt
  10. How to Save a Life – The Fray
  11. Crack the Shutters – Snow Patrol
  12. Somewhere Only We Know – Keane
  13. Lovers in Japan/Reign of Love – Coldplay
  14. In Your Eyes – Peter Gabriel
  15. Med sud i eyrum – Sigur Ros
  16. Sense of Touch – Mark Isham
  17. Goodbye My Lover – James Blunt
  18. This Woman’s Work – Maxwell
  19. Hurt – Johnny Cash
  20. Wuthering Heights – Kate Bush
  21. Same Mistake – James Blunt
  22. Hallelujah – Jeff Buckley
  23. The Blower’s Daughter – Damien Rice
  24. A Whiter Shade of Pale – Procol Harum
  25. Breathe Me – Sia
  26. Nothing Compares 2 U – Sinéad O’Connor
  27. Life in Technicolor – Coldplay
  28. Svefn-g-englar – Sigur Rós
  29. Green Grass of Tunnel – Mum
  30. Vid Spilum endalaust – Sigur Rós
  31. Marl1 – Tsewer Beta
  32. Alone in Kyoto – Air
  33. One Perfect Sunrise – Orbital
  34. Deep Blue Day – Brian Eno
  35. Halcyon On On – Orbital
  36. Adagio for Strings – Tiesto
  37. Love U More – Sunscreem
  38. Stay Down – Mary J. Blige
  39. How to Be Dead – Snow Patrol

(Yes. I listen to James Blunt).
I have other playlists too, like an “upbeat” playlist to which I workout/jog/run. Because my writing playlist is chock full of emo music. And emo music is sucky for workouts.

11 Comments

Filed under Writing

11 responses to “writing playlist

  1. mensah

    I can’t believe I don’t have a writing playlist. Sounds like I have a Sunday project now lol

  2. I used to be able to write with one song (whichever one helped evoke the right emotion or memory) playing on loop, but I’d have to be sure it had been going for a while so I’d stop hearing the lyrics. Now I listen to music when I’m *not* writing to help me remember things. But I can’t write and have music at the same time anymore. Oh well — processes change 🙂

  3. Wonderful music, but I can’t write to anything with words. So my writing playlist is all wordless music.

  4. k8

    Mozart’s Requiem? I don’t know anyone else that writes to that except me. It’s my go-to piece. There’s nothing like hearing LUX! screamed in eight part harmony to get your blood going. Plus, I’m writing about my dead fiance right now, so it’s fitting. He was as tortured as Mozart in the end there.

  5. h

    I wrote most of my thesis listening to Yo La Tengo’s I am Not Afraid of You and I will Beat Your Ass. No symbolism there, no ma’am.

  6. This may sound so childish in the same way that I listen to Mozart when writing, I also listen to classical Christmas songs. ^_^

  7. That is a great playlist! How to Save a Life is on my writing playlist as well!

    Hope the writing is coming along great!

    K.C.D
    http://thewritingsofkcd.wordpress.com/

  8. I like Christmas music, James Taylor (great storyteller!) and my new fave – Nathan Clark George! 🙂

  9. I can’t write to music, but this reminds me of what I called my “Labor Playlist.” I made it for my first birth, but ended up using it all the time. Unfortunately, it died when my iPod and laptop died. It had a lot of Air, Badly Drawn Boy, Sufjan Stevens, etc.

  10. Thanks for the suggestions.

Leave a Reply

